Skip to content
Home » Blog » Order of New Brunswick 2023 Recipients Revealed

Order of New Brunswick 2023 Recipients Revealed

2023 Order of New Brunswick

Five new members have been added to the Order of New Brunswick for 2023 following a ceremony at Government House in Fredericton.

Chancellor of the order, Lt.-Gov. Brenda Murphy, named Catherine Akagi, J.W. Bud Bird, Isabelle McKee-Allain, Joanne E. McLeod and Bernard Poirier as the new recipients of the order.

The quintet have been added to the Order of New Brunswick for services to local communities and now get to add the letters O.N.B. to their names.

“The 2023 recipients of the Order of New Brunswick lift their communities, break down barriers, and set the standard for excellence through hard work and perseverance,” Murphy said.

“Their sustained contributions across a variety of fields have shaped a more accessible, equitable, vibrant and prosperous society while raising our province’s profile. As role models, they inspire and empower us to be changemakers.”

What is the Order of New Brunswick?

The Order of New Brunswick was established in 2000 to recognize individuals who have demonstrated a high level of excellence and achievement in their field.

Since 2002, more than 200 accomplished individuals have been invested with the order for their dedication and service to the province, its people and communities.

Nominations are now open for the 2024 Order.

New Order of New Brunswick 2023 Members

  • Catherine Akagi, from Saint Andrews, for her outstanding commitment to education, her advocacy for First Nations and her extraordinary community engagement.
  • J.W. Bud Bird, from Fredericton, for his lifetime of business, political and charitable activities, which have contributed meaningfully to New Brunswick and to Canada.
  • Isabelle McKee-Allain, from Dieppe, for her profound commitment and exceptional career as a professional dedicated to the advancement of women’s equality, social justice and francophone and Acadian culture in New Brunswick.
  • Joanne E. McLeod, from Fredericton, for her lifelong dedication to improving conditions for people with paraplegia or other mobility impairments. For more than 60 years she has been an advocate and pioneer in improving the quality of life for people with disabilities within her community, throughout the province and across the country.
  • Bernard Poirier, from Dieppe, for his enthusiasm, dedication and exceptional support of a dynamic francophone cultural and community life and his role in protecting the rights of the province’s francophones.